Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

5.3 - 6.0 conversion questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2010, 10:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3 - 6.0 conversion questions

Hello everyone, this is my first time being on this site, and first time being on a fourm. Im haveing trouble finding the the answers to my questions.

The 5.3 i have in the truck now is on its last leg, and instead of fixing it or replaceing it with another 5.3 i figured its a great time to upgrade to the 6.0.

The question i have is: Will the 6.0's Electrical / Fuel / Hoses etc, all match up with the 5.3's, or am i going to have to redo everything in the engine bay?

Also will i need a new computer for the 6.0, or will the 5.3's work ?

Will my Stock tranny and rear hold up?

Thank you for your time and help!
Old 07-05-2010, 10:45 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Everything will swap over to the 6.0. The stock pcm will work, but a custom tune will make a huge difference in power. The stock tranny will need to be beefed up to last. The rear will be fine unless you get power hungry and start making a ton of power with a power adder.
Old 07-05-2010, 10:51 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Im about to start my 5.3 to lq9 swap as well. quick question, when I swap my intake manifold over from my 5.3 are the intake manifold gaskets reusable or should I buy new ones?
Old 07-06-2010, 12:08 AM
PT's Slowest Truck

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

CountryBoy04Silverado, be sure to get an aluminum head 01+ 6.0 or it will not mate up to your 60E as the 99-00 6.0's with the iron heads have a longer crankshaft.

Brandon, I wouldn't take a chance on re-using the intake gaskets, that's just asking for a vacuum leak IMO. I'm sure that guys have done it without problems, but not a chance I would take, just my .02...
Old 07-06-2010, 07:38 AM
TECH Junkie