Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

05 6.0 Yukon Denali

Old 03-15-2017, 05:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 6.0 Yukon Denali

I purchased an 05 Denali last year to use as my DD but i'm getting to bug to make it more fun to drive. The Yukon is all stock with ~150k miles. The transmission shifts fine and the motor feel great given the mileage and age. I'm new to the GMC and LQ4 motor but everything I have been reading says a cam and exhaust is all that is needed. I will be towing a rhino and a ~3000lb race car from time to time and mostly use this as my DD with some off roading when I can. End of the day I have a fun fast car but drive this one 80% of the time. I want it to be a sneaky fast truck but don't need to squeeze every bit of performance out of it and would rather have reliability than an extra 10-15hp. I will find a local tuner after the modifications.

1: Cam
I have looked and cam's and Texas Speed and Performance keeps coming up with their truck line. Any other recommends for something with a much better TQ/HP curve than stock with mild manors? (Stock type RPM's <6.3k)

2: Exhaust
Does anyone make an exhaust for the Denali AWD? I have looked at several vendors but am not having much luck.

Are stock manifolds or short tube headers, removing the cats, and a good flowing mufflers good enough or are long tubes and a true duals a must?
Old 03-15-2017, 08:28 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 64 Likes on 54 Posts

LT headers in a SUV is going to be loud considering how much sheet metal you have to rattle around and the fact you have to throttle in more than a car to move it. I'd aim for a valvetrain friendly cam and a touring orientated muffler. Top it off with a used TBSS intake. If you are going to tow then you don't really want to deal with drone 10 hours a day while traveling. Throw a good tranny cooler and only tow in 3rd. Take it easy on that 4L65E.