FORCED INDUCTION Turbos | Superchargers | Intercoolers | H2O/Meth Injection

On3 turbo manifold leak

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2016, 09:30 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default On3 turbo manifold leak

So I've been working on my 2000 Silverado turbo project for about two years. Took forever, finally got everything together, got a really friggin bad tune, so I've been going over all the little things to get it ready for round two on the dyno. I found out that the On3 turbo kit I got had a warped turbo header (the flange that meets the head) so it was leaking like crazy. I took it to a machine shop, had the flange surface trued, and put it back on the truck with triple layer metal gaskets and some hi temp gasket material to make sure it sealed. Fire it up again today to test for leaks, and I'm still getting residual exhaust leaks from around the header flange.

Any suggestions? I've already pulled the whole hot side off twice now and this is burning me up. Anyone run without gaskets? It's an aluminum head and a friend suggested trying that.
Old 12-26-2016, 11:08 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts

Weld on another flange and have it milled flat.
Old 12-27-2016, 09:17 AM
I have a gauge for that

Received 373 Likes on 254 Posts

On3 stuff is garbage, hence why its so cheap. All of the welds on the manifold should be suspect as well.
Old 12-27-2016, 09:42 AM
TECH Resident

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts

nothing worse then crap going wrong. Sorry for your troubles. Either buy a quality manifold or have a new flange welded on like said above. Good luck.
Old 12-27-2016, 01:58 PM
Truck Sponsor

Received 62 Likes on 50 Posts

Welding another flange to any manifold will warp it.
Will need to be remachined.
Then if any area is off lining up other parts could be fun.
Old 12-27-2016, 03:23 PM
Teching In